BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
      10-04-2020, 11:10 AM   #67
Bigjule1111
Second Lieutenant
23
Rep
264
Posts

Drives: 2014 bmw640gc 2015Mercedes e40
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Philly - south Jersey area

iTrader: (0)

honestly I'm not sure whats the maker of my unit or if I have the latest software.. this is a pic of the info on my unit .[IMG]undefined[/IMG]
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2020, 06:51 PM   #68
Thewrench86
Second Lieutenant
20
Rep
229
Posts

Drives: E92 \M sport. F06 640d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

From the software cust version you have Carlinkit
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2020, 08:15 PM   #69
Bigjule1111
Second Lieutenant
23
Rep
264
Posts

Drives: 2014 bmw640gc 2015Mercedes e40
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Philly - south Jersey area

iTrader: (0)

So do u think my software is up to date ? Also just noticed my heads up display not functioning... Anyone have a issue with this during install ? Nothing shows up on my windshield and grayed out on my idrive screen ..I did have it gray out when I was coding last year ..maybe tomorrow I'll hook up on bimmercode and see if I can get it back on .. Thanks again
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2020, 03:04 AM   #70
Thewrench86
Second Lieutenant
20
Rep
229
Posts

Drives: E92 \M sport. F06 640d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

There are no newer versions available via the thread
https://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh....php?t=1675929
Regarding hud maybe a wire was not reconnected during the install process?
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2020, 04:17 AM   #71
Bigjule1111
Second Lieutenant
23
Rep
264
Posts

Drives: 2014 bmw640gc 2015Mercedes e40
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Philly - south Jersey area

iTrader: (0)

Not sure .I'm going to mess with it in the morning..but I did have the same issue when I was coding ..it just disappeared.and I wasn't coding anything to do with the HUD. It just grayed out and It deactivated itself , so I'm hoping it's something simple ..if not then I'll take car back to the installer.. another question.. when making calls ... The correct way to connect is thru both bluetooths? I seen that for me to make calls correctly looks like the unit has to b connected to the unit and the car .. dual connection.. if not I have to manually connect the unit to the car .. the last time it connected to both and I was about to make a call without jumping out of the unit ...and thanks again everyone for helping me out
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2020, 04:20 AM   #72
Bigjule1111
Second Lieutenant
23
Rep
264
Posts

Drives: 2014 bmw640gc 2015Mercedes e40
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Philly - south Jersey area

iTrader: (0)

here's a pic from my Android phone with dual connection
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2020, 04:20 AM   #73
hugo_nz
First Lieutenant
New Zealand
124
Rep
304
Posts

Drives: F12 650i
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigjule1111 View Post
So do u think my software is up to date ? Also just noticed my heads up display not functioning... Anyone have a issue with this during install ? Nothing shows up on my windshield and grayed out on my idrive screen ..I did have it gray out when I was coding last year ..maybe tomorrow I'll hook up on bimmercode and see if I can get it back on .. Thanks again
Perhaps the MOST connector is not properly connected...
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2020, 04:21 AM   #74
Bigjule1111
Second Lieutenant
23
Rep
264
Posts

Drives: 2014 bmw640gc 2015Mercedes e40
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Philly - south Jersey area

iTrader: (0)

What's Iis the MOST connector?
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2020, 04:56 AM   #75
hugo_nz
First Lieutenant
New Zealand
124
Rep
304
Posts

Drives: F12 650i
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigjule1111 View Post
What's Iis the MOST connector?
Its the green fiber optic connector that's in the quad lock (big black connector) that goes into the back of the iDrive headunit.
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2020, 11:00 PM   #76
standslanted
New Member
3
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: BMW 640i, X5, E90
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Texas

iTrader: (0)

Where are you all installing the MMI box on your 6? I'm installing the kit now, but have run into an issue. The LVDS IN cable that connects to the MMI box (the factory cable that in the car) is too short to install the unit in the glove box. There is space however, between the glove box and the radio but not easy to secure. I may 3D print a bracket that mounts to the metal frame in that area. There is no space behind or under the factory radio/head unit, so you will need to find another place. I can post images if interested.
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2020, 11:52 PM   #77
Bigjule1111
Second Lieutenant
23
Rep
264
Posts

Drives: 2014 bmw640gc 2015Mercedes e40
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Philly - south Jersey area

iTrader: (0)

I got my installed by a local shop .he did have a concern about the placement.. not sure were he ended up placing it .. I do know the usb cable is running out of my glove box ..so I'm assuming is in the same spot u mentioned
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2020, 11:53 PM   #78
Bigjule1111
Second Lieutenant
23
Rep
264
Posts

Drives: 2014 bmw640gc 2015Mercedes e40
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Philly - south Jersey area

iTrader: (0)

By the way I had a issue were I lost my HUD .. I reset the ecu to the system and HUD came back
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2020, 07:08 AM   #79
mjposner
Colonel
mjposner's Avatar
United_States
533
Rep
2,864
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i F12
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (3)

I did the install myself and it will fit behind the radio down below, just a tigt fit. Also, a green mist connector must be relocated, easy to miss that. Also, program your radio button 8 to aux so you will be able to get sound if you switch audio between bmw annd the mmi.
__________________
Previous BMW: 16 M4, 13 M6; 14 M235i, 12 BMW M3; 11 BMW M3; 08 BMW M3; 08 BMW Z4M; 04 X3; 02 M3 Convertible; 02 M3; 00 M Roadster; 94 325 convertible; 92 325i Convertible; and 85 635csi
My other rides: 1965 Chevrolet Corvair Corsa and 2007 Porsche 911s
My Car Photo Blog: http://carfisheye.blogspot.com/
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2020, 03:59 AM   #80
Thewrench86
Second Lieutenant
20
Rep
229
Posts

Drives: E92 \M sport. F06 640d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

Are u guys able to control any movement using the scroll wheel on the steering wheel? I've seen some videos where in certain apps like Spotify the scroll wheel will work to move through a playlist say. For me the scroll only works in the phone app.
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2020, 05:56 AM   #81
hugo_nz
First Lieutenant
New Zealand
124
Rep
304
Posts

Drives: F12 650i
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thewrench86 View Post
Are u guys able to control any movement using the scroll wheel on the steering wheel? I've seen some videos where in certain apps like Spotify the scroll wheel will work to move through a playlist say. For me the scroll only works in the phone app.
Scroll wheel works across the entire interface for me. You have to nudge it between the left, center and right columns using the iDrive controller.
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2020, 02:41 PM   #82
Thewrench86
Second Lieutenant
20
Rep
229
Posts

Drives: E92 \M sport. F06 640d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hugo_nz View Post
Scroll wheel works across the entire interface for me. You have to nudge it between the left, center and right columns using the iDrive controller.
No way, Just to be clear is that the scroll wheel on the steering wheel control to the right of the wheel??
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2020, 03:19 AM   #83
hugo_nz
First Lieutenant
New Zealand
124
Rep
304
Posts

Drives: F12 650i
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thewrench86 View Post
No way, Just to be clear is that the scroll wheel on the steering wheel control to the right of the wheel??
Yep, that's the one. Same one you would use to scroll phone numbers etc..
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2020, 02:24 PM   #84
Thewrench86
Second Lieutenant
20
Rep
229
Posts

Drives: E92 \M sport. F06 640d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hugo_nz View Post
Yep, that's the one. Same one you would use to scroll phone numbers etc..
is there a setting i need to change perhaps....
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2020, 03:48 PM   #85
Mnfamilyguy2020
Enlisted Member
United_States
8
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i Gran Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thewrench86 View Post
is there a setting i need to change perhaps....
Hmmm.... mine does not work either, The HUD gives a message that it does not function when audio input is on AUX
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2020, 05:06 AM   #86
hugo_nz
First Lieutenant
New Zealand
124
Rep
304
Posts

Drives: F12 650i
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

iTrader: (0)

There is a setting. I will take a photo tomorrow.
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2020, 08:18 PM   #87
Bigjule1111
Second Lieutenant
23
Rep
264
Posts

Drives: 2014 bmw640gc 2015Mercedes e40
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Philly - south Jersey area

iTrader: (0)

Well today I took her to work as she's not my daily driver and if I would give the mmi kit a grade , it would b a F. couldn't connect at all to my Android auto .. then when I finnaly got fed up and changed to my oem bluetooth..my phone wouldn't connect for audio .I keep connecting to dual BTs is that correct ? Then when I reversed in to my parking spot I got rear camera malfunction.. coincidence ? I don't think so
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2020, 09:23 PM   #88
Mnfamilyguy2020
Enlisted Member
United_States
8
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i Gran Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigjule1111 View Post
Well today I took her to work as she's not my daily driver and if I would give the mmi kit a grade , it would b a F. couldn't connect at all to my Android auto .. then when I finnaly got fed up and changed to my oem bluetooth..my phone wouldn't connect for audio .I keep connecting to dual BTs is that correct ? Then when I reversed in to my parking spot I got rear camera malfunction.. coincidence ? I don't think so
That's a massive bummer, you could have a problem from installation.... Here's the mess of spaghetti I was cramming back with the added module behind the already tight head unit.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:41 AM.




6post.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST