BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
      09-30-2020, 10:04 AM   #45
Thewrench86
Second Lieutenant
20
Rep
231
Posts

Drives: E92 \M sport. F06 640d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hugo_nz View Post
I'm running the latest official firmware (from this thread). Personally, I don' use the wireless option since I like having my phone charging and out of sight while driving. I did play around with the wireless option when I installed the units, but I found it to be noticeably slower than the wired option.
Thank you, will give the update a go tonight!
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2020, 09:39 PM   #46
hugo_nz
First Lieutenant
New Zealand
124
Rep
304
Posts

Drives: F12 650i
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjposner View Post
I have the same kit. Install is plug and play. Get a good trim tool removal kit and some torx screwdrivers.

The newer firmware gives you wide screen but now small icons.

It is clear that this is really meant for touch screens, using idrive controller is a pain.

"Okay Google" works, you can say read me last message and then actually reply with your voice.

Biggest issue is that from startup it take a few minutes to connect. Since my commute is 15 minutes that can be a pain. Also, how do you change map orientation nd scale?
That's strange. Mine starts up within seconds of getting into the car. As in open door - push start button - select driver profile - connect phone using USB - android auto on screen. All this before I even select reverse to back out of the garage.

Map scale and orientation are icons you get when rotating around the options on the map screen. Orientation looks like a compass and scale is a plus sign I think, though google uses dynamic scaling to zoom in and out while you drive.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2020, 04:51 AM   #47
Bigjule1111
Second Lieutenant
23
Rep
264
Posts

Drives: 2014 bmw640gc 2015Mercedes e40
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Philly - south Jersey area

iTrader: (0)

hey should I b concerned? received the package today , doing install maybe Saturday..my issue is that the box it came in says wired ..I emailed the seller but haven't received any reply
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2020, 04:53 AM   #48
Bigjule1111
Second Lieutenant
23
Rep
264
Posts

Drives: 2014 bmw640gc 2015Mercedes e40
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Philly - south Jersey area

iTrader: (0)

pic
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2020, 05:57 AM   #49
Thewrench86
Second Lieutenant
20
Rep
231
Posts

Drives: E92 \M sport. F06 640d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hugo_nz View Post
That's strange. Mine starts up within seconds of getting into the car. As in open door - push start button - select driver profile - connect phone using USB - android auto on screen. All this before I even select reverse to back out of the garage.

Map scale and orientation are icons you get when rotating around the options on the map screen. Orientation looks like a compass and scale is a plus sign I think, though google uses dynamic scaling to zoom in and out while you drive.
I have to hold my menu button for 3 seconds and then the mmi screen loads. it never takes me directly to it when i start the car. Is there a setting a need to toggle?
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2020, 05:59 AM   #50
Thewrench86
Second Lieutenant
20
Rep
231
Posts

Drives: E92 \M sport. F06 640d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigjule1111 View Post
hey should I b concerned? received the package today , doing install maybe Saturday..my issue is that the box it came in says wired ..I emailed the seller but haven't received any reply
I don't remember seeing any sticker saying wired or wireless but apparently units being shipped at the moment are the new version which is wireless or wired.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2020, 07:26 AM   #51
mjposner
Colonel
mjposner's Avatar
United_States
533
Rep
2,864
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i F12
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: South Florida

iTrader: (3)

Usually in the am it takes 2-3 minutes to work, later in the day it works almost immediately. Wireless only works with certain phones. I think al installs require at least one wired hook-up at first. It is obvious that it is touchscreen based, when things pop up I miss them a lot fiddling with the idrive wheel.
__________________
Previous BMW: 16 M4, 13 M6; 14 M235i, 12 BMW M3; 11 BMW M3; 08 BMW M3; 08 BMW Z4M; 04 X3; 02 M3 Convertible; 02 M3; 00 M Roadster; 94 325 convertible; 92 325i Convertible; and 85 635csi
My other rides: 1965 Chevrolet Corvair Corsa and 2007 Porsche 911s
My Car Photo Blog: http://carfisheye.blogspot.com/
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2020, 09:23 PM   #52
Mnfamilyguy2020
Enlisted Member
United_States
8
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i Gran Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Just installed mine, quick question.... The input for Aux has "front" indicated, It feels like it is just the front channel. Is this correct?

Also, F06 installation was a real PITA to cram those cables back there and get the head unit back in. wow.....
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2020, 09:24 PM   #53
Mnfamilyguy2020
Enlisted Member
United_States
8
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i Gran Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigjule1111 View Post
hey should I b concerned? received the package today , doing install maybe Saturday..my issue is that the box it came in says wired ..I emailed the seller but haven't received any reply
Received mine today and it had the exact same packaging and sticker. It is wireless as well as wired.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2020, 09:33 PM   #54
Bigjule1111
Second Lieutenant
23
Rep
264
Posts

Drives: 2014 bmw640gc 2015Mercedes e40
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Philly - south Jersey area

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mnfamilyguy2020 View Post
Received mine today and it had the exact same packaging and sticker. It is wireless as well as wired.
Ok thanks ..you got it installed already ? I was going to do my install myself but decided to take it to this local shop, doing it for $70 on Saturday
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2020, 09:59 PM   #55
Mnfamilyguy2020
Enlisted Member
United_States
8
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i Gran Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigjule1111 View Post
Ok thanks ..you got it installed already ? I was going to do my install myself but decided to take it to this local shop, doing it for $70 on Saturday
I did, $70 is an absolute steal. Getting that head unit back in with the additional wire harness block/adapter is beyond tough.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2020, 10:01 PM   #56
Bigjule1111
Second Lieutenant
23
Rep
264
Posts

Drives: 2014 bmw640gc 2015Mercedes e40
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Philly - south Jersey area

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mnfamilyguy2020 View Post
I did, $70 is an absolute steal. Getting that head unit back in with the additional wire harness block/adapter is beyond tough.
that's what I was thinking..he said normally 1 hr..worst case scenario 2 .. reputable shop too ..so what's ure feedback on the unit ? Are u running Android or iPhone ? Any pointers on getting this thing set up and running ? Thanks again
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2020, 10:30 PM   #57
Mnfamilyguy2020
Enlisted Member
United_States
8
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i Gran Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigjule1111 View Post
that's what I was thinking..he said normally 1 hr..worst case scenario 2 .. reputable shop too ..so what's ure feedback on the unit ? Are u running Android or iPhone ? Any pointers on getting this thing set up and running ? Thanks again
Iím running Apple, so car play. Iím very new to the unit, but itís very straight forward. In terms of functionality, itís seems very similar to the factory car play in our Range Rover.
Appreciate 0
      10-02-2020, 08:49 PM   #58
Thewrench86
Second Lieutenant
20
Rep
231
Posts

Drives: E92 \M sport. F06 640d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

If your going to use android auto is highly recommend updating to the latest software linked to above by Hugo. It has completely changed the look of the screen. Very sharp a lot better quality image and functionality. Waze is really good for speed camera warnings. She will notify me of an imminent
camera out loud even if I'm not navigating to a destination which is really useful. I have realised tho using it wireless drains battery s10+ and im finding im plugging the phone in anyway. So might start connecting through wired connection.
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2020, 12:05 AM   #59
Bigjule1111
Second Lieutenant
23
Rep
264
Posts

Drives: 2014 bmw640gc 2015Mercedes e40
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Philly - south Jersey area

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thewrench86 View Post
If your going to use android auto is highly recommend updating to the latest software linked to above by Hugo. It has completely changed the look of the screen. Very sharp a lot better quality image and functionality. Waze is really good for speed camera warnings. She will notify me of an imminent
camera out loud even if I'm not navigating to a destination which is really useful. I have realised tho using it wireless drains battery s10+ and im finding im plugging the phone in anyway. So might start connecting through wired connection.
Definitely will do ..do u know what version is the latest ? I'm getting it installed tomorrow.. looking forward to playing around with it ..I did read that some of the upgrades are interchangeable with different units ..but I'm not even sure what manufacturer mine is from
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2020, 02:46 AM   #60
nissan
Lieutenant
38
Rep
523
Posts

Drives: 2015 M6 GC CP
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: DFW

iTrader: (4)

Anyone have the issue after install where holding the menu button down just results in a blank screen? Any troubleshooting tips? I reinstalled the harnesses but no luck. First 3 dip switches are on the "on" position.
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2020, 04:42 AM   #61
hugo_nz
First Lieutenant
New Zealand
124
Rep
304
Posts

Drives: F12 650i
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nissan View Post
Anyone have the issue after install where holding the menu button down just results in a blank screen? Any troubleshooting tips? I reinstalled the harnesses but no luck. First 3 dip switches are on the "on" position.
Holding menu down should reset the unit, option should switch to the camera inputs and olding back should go back to iDrive.
Appreciate 0
      10-03-2020, 10:16 AM   #62
Mnfamilyguy2020
Enlisted Member
United_States
8
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i Gran Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

I’ve had the unit in for a few days. I’ve had occasion to put about 500 miles on the car (F06 with Bang and Olufsen)) in stop and go traffic during that time so I’ve had a good several hours of continuous use and plenty of pairings and re-starts while on appointments. I use an apple X S Max and am running the latest IOS.

Here is what I purchased: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Wireless-IO...72.m2749.l2649

The seller was outstanding! As soon as I made the purchase, I shot him a note to request expedited shipping, he immediately responded, and the unit came to the Minneapolis USA area within 3 days. Origin I believe was Hong Kong.

I followed the Bimmertech MMI Prime installation video (absolutely excellent)

Some tips that may help you: When you tuck the new unit down in the bottom of the head unit cavity there is a bit of space for you to pull it towards you, you must rotate it slightly to provide enough clearance for the back of the head unit to slide in fully. Don’t bundle up the andream unit’s wiring like they suggest to organize the excess mess, it will prove to be too bulky of a mass when you slide the head unit back in place, I carefully tucked the antennae wire, the USB connecting harness and the excess length of new cable to the monitor to the rear right of the unit in the fairly large cavity. While sliding the head unit back in place I used a long slender trim tool to maneuver the main harness block/adapter to the upper left rear of the space.

Upon start up I plugged my phone into the USB harness, I held the Menu Button for 3 seconds and the new system popped up. My phone immedialty picked it up and the multi-step pairing began, from that point I disconnected the USB from my phone and the unit interacted with my phone exactly like our factory Range Rover unit. I have had no glitching with the unit at all.
Appreciate 1
MMMM6GC105.00

      10-03-2020, 07:17 PM   #63
Bigjule1111
Second Lieutenant
23
Rep
264
Posts

Drives: 2014 bmw640gc 2015Mercedes e40
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Philly - south Jersey area

iTrader: (0)

Ok got the unit up and running today. Alot of positives.. a few negatives .. for some reason my spotify music keeps stopping ..have to keep hitting the track to resume playing ..I originally thought it was because I was running wireless but turns out it does it connected via bluetooth aswell . Also the android auto looks grainy nothing like the Carplay .. once again I tought that was going to change once I went wired but def wasn't the case ..I'm assuming I'm running tŪhe latest software....last negative for me .. I was hoping to mirror my att now app (formerly direct TV app) but for some reason , it.plays the sound but not the video.. was hoping to have that option on those days were I find myself stuck waiting on the wife to finish shopping!!! Lol

Last edited by Bigjule1111; 10-03-2020 at 08:13 PM..
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2020, 08:21 AM   #64
Thewrench86
Second Lieutenant
20
Rep
231
Posts

Drives: E92 \M sport. F06 640d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

I started off with custom b_v1.0.3 the update file was b_v1.0.4.2 from the thread. I have an andream version b unit so applied that update file. Took about 1 minute to do. Since the update picture is much sharper.
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2020, 08:24 AM   #65
Thewrench86
Second Lieutenant
20
Rep
231
Posts

Drives: E92 \M sport. F06 640d M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uk

iTrader: (0)

Name:  20201002_203818.jpg
Views: 122
Size:  142.7 KB
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2020, 08:50 AM   #66
Bigjule1111
Second Lieutenant
23
Rep
264
Posts

Drives: 2014 bmw640gc 2015Mercedes e40
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Philly - south Jersey area

iTrader: (0)

Thanks ..gonna see which one I have ..I did find out about the mirroring issue with att now app .. att deactivated the mirroring from the service .
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 AM.




6post.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST