BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   6Post.com | BMW 6-Series Forum > BMW 6 Series Forum > General 6-Series Coupe, Convertible, and Gran Coupe Forum

12-30-2019, 06:26 PM   #1
golf4dj
Rep
Drives: 2011 E93 and 2015 F15

Another Audio Thread - Upgrade or Replace HK Components

Hi all - in a bit of a dilemma, replace single blown speaker or upgrade to BAVSound Stage 1 across the board (alternatively could go with BimmerTech Alpha Ones).

Recently purchased a 2013 640i coupe with roughly 50K miles on the clock. It has Option S677A which is the Harmon Kardon HiFi Professional System with AMP, equalizer and surround settings but no logos on the speaker grills consistent with my model year.

My front driver passenger door speaker is damaged to the point that I get very muffled sound with no clarity coming from that speaker when it is isolated in the system. I am no expert but it seems obvious that the 4" speaker in the door is toast. While the rest of the system seems to be OK it is still a bit underwhelming from the standpoint that it seems hollow with lack of definition. This is compared to my wife's 2015 X5 and my former 3 series.

As stated above, my dilemma is do I just replace the door speaker at roughly $120 ($60 if used) or splurge for the BAVSOUND Stage 1 upgrade at roughly $900 (BimmerTech Alpha One's would be similar). If the BAVSOUND is a significant improvement then I would likely go that direction but if it is not then I would simply replace the single speaker (and tweeter if needed).

Not overly interested in upgrading the AMP and subwoofers at this time as that would put me at roughly $2500. I just don't see the value in a $2500 sound system upgrade on my car considering what it is worth today.

Thoughts from those that have been in my situation, considered an upgrade or actually upgraded.

Thanks in advance,
DJ
From the Atlanta area
Appreciate 0
      12-30-2019, 08:35 PM   #2
ezmaass
Lieutenant Colonel