BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
      05-27-2016, 06:18 PM   #1
AceCobra1
Private First Class
6
Rep
101
Posts

Drives: RX8, Alfa Romeo GTV, 640d GC
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Harddrive upgrade

Hi guys, just wondering if it is possible to upgrade or replace the harddrive on the iDrive? I know there is a 30GB one? I was looking to maybe replace it with an SSD if it is easy enough to do
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2016, 11:34 AM   #2
6coupe
Private First Class
29
Rep
133
Posts

Drives: M6 GC
Join Date: May 2016
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Just out of curiosity, why? Do you store a lot of music on there? Easier route may be to use a 128gb USB for music rather than trying to replace the hard drive.

If there are other benefits I'd be interested to hear them. The only 'issue' I could see with the current setup is the few seconds of 'loading navigation' on startup from cold, but the nav then works flawlessly.
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2016, 01:46 PM   #3
AceCobra1
Private First Class
6
Rep
101
Posts

Drives: RX8, Alfa Romeo GTV, 640d GC
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6coupe View Post
Just out of curiosity, why? Do you store a lot of music on there? Easier route may be to use a 128gb USB for music rather than trying to replace the hard drive.

If there are other benefits I'd be interested to hear them. The only 'issue' I could see with the current setup is the few seconds of 'loading navigation' on startup from cold, but the nav then works flawlessly.
There isn't - thats probably me just being a geek
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2016, 05:32 AM   #4
red30xdrive
Enlisted Member
18
Rep
44
Posts

Drives: X5 G05 M50d
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: England

iTrader: (0)

This shows you how to change your HDD

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=841458
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2016, 10:35 AM   #5
6coupe
Private First Class
29
Rep
133
Posts

Drives: M6 GC
Join Date: May 2016
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

There you have it then, just need to get the specs on the 640d and go from there. i have a couple spare ssd's laying around so might have a go myself.
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2016, 03:58 PM   #6
AceCobra1
Private First Class
6
Rep
101
Posts

Drives: RX8, Alfa Romeo GTV, 640d GC
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by red30xdrive View Post
This shows you how to change your HDD

http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=841458
Thanks - but surely it is different for different cars ? That looks like an old IDE connection too.
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2016, 07:21 AM   #7
BDO
Lieutenant
276
Rep
536
Posts

Drives: 2016 X6 40d M-sport
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Citizen of the World

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AceCobra1 View Post
Thanks - but surely it is different for different cars ? That looks like an old IDE connection too.
CIC is CIC, regardless of the car it's in. Quite possible that you'll find an old IDE connection, given how old CIC is.
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2016, 03:21 AM   #8
gtr_skyline
Private
United Kingdom
22
Rep
78
Posts

Drives: 640d GC Sport / X3 2.0d Sport
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: St Albans

iTrader: (0)

I just bought a Samsung T3 500Gb drive from Amazon for 160 and works well in the car - quick response times, SSD, etc Using it mainly for HD music and CDs I've ripped into FLAC format - sounds superb through the HK system.
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2016, 03:58 PM   #9
AceCobra1
Private First Class
6
Rep
101
Posts

Drives: RX8, Alfa Romeo GTV, 640d GC
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtr_skyline View Post
I just bought a Samsung T3 500Gb drive from Amazon for 160 and works well in the car - quick response times, SSD, etc Using it mainly for HD music and CDs I've ripped into FLAC format - sounds superb through the HK system.
Do you know if replacing the harddrive would invalidate the warranty from Mondial ?
Appreciate 0
      06-06-2016, 07:07 AM   #10
gtr_skyline
Private
United Kingdom
22
Rep
78
Posts

Drives: 640d GC Sport / X3 2.0d Sport
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: St Albans

iTrader: (0)

Not sure. The drive I bought is external and just plugs into the usb socket in the armrest
Appreciate 0
      02-15-2024, 02:24 PM   #11
PixelVogue
Second Lieutenant
United Kingdom
22
Rep
258
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Sorry for bumping this back up, but I got a Sandisk 128gb drive which was formatted FAT32, i added around 100gb of music but the car doesn't pick them all up.
Should I format NTFS instead? not sure what the best format should be and if the car can read other files than mp3?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM.




6post.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST