BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   6Post.com | BMW 6-Series Forum > BMW 6 Series Forum > BMW M6 Forum (F12 / F13)

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-31-2020, 12:46 PM   #1
LJohnson32
First Lieutenant
LJohnson32's Avatar
United_States
213
Rep
360
Posts

Drives: 2016 BMW M6 Gran Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (1)

Is My Car Tuned...?

May seem like a silly question to some but I'm curious if there is a simple method to find out if my car is flashed/tuned?

Backstory to this is myself and a friend with a LCI F10 M5 went to a car show together on Saturday morning and we did a pair of runs from the lights. Despite his car having a JB4, BMS intakes, Eisenmann exhaust and the F10 M5 weighing ~150lbs lighter than the M6GC, I won handily both times.

I purchased my car CPO from a BMW dealer back in May and all of my mods to this point have been cosmetic. Is it possible that I purchased the car already tuned or is there no way the tune would've snuck through the CPO checklist when the car was processed at the dealership?

Thanks in advance for any insight
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2020, 04:32 PM   #2
JayM6
Private First Class
33
Rep
142
Posts

Drives: 15 M6 GC Comp
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Bay Area, California

iTrader: (0)

You can try dynoing it, or try emailing various tuners and see if your VIN is in their database.

It could also be maybe your friend isnt as good as a driver lol
Appreciate 1
      08-31-2020, 06:34 PM   #3
arucano
Captain
arucano's Avatar
United_States
249
Rep
627
Posts

Drives: 2014 M6 Grand Coupe CP
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Kingwood TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 BMW M6 GC  [10.00]
quote: Backstory to this is myself and a friend with a LCI F10 M5 went to a car show together on Saturday morning and we did a pair of runs from the lights. Despite his car having a JB4, BMS intakes, Eisenmann exhaust and the F10 M5 weighing ~150lbs lighter than the M6GC, I won handily both times.

The tires can make a huge difference in those short sprints. The power in first and second gear are limited to partial power by default. Removal of these limits simply result in more smoke. Traction is the limiting factor in the initial roll-off.
__________________
F06 M6 Grand Coupe CP
Sapphire Black Metallic
The drive is the destination
Appreciate 1
      08-31-2020, 07:00 PM   #4
LJohnson32
First Lieutenant
LJohnson32's Avatar
United_States
213
Rep
360
Posts

Drives: 2016 BMW M6 Gran Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayM6 View Post
You can try dynoing it, or try emailing various tuners and see if your VIN is in their database.

It could also be maybe your friend isnt as good as a driver lol
Yeah thought about emailing tuners, maybe I'll do that. I guess your second point could be valid also but wouldn't necessarily come into play after you hit 3rd gear and the wheelspin stops lol, at which point I continued to pull away. I also give him credit for being a good driver haha, and it was the first time I had ever raced from a dig with this car so I probably wasn't managing wheelspin that great myself

Quote:
Originally Posted by arucano View Post
The tires can make a huge difference in those short sprints. The power in first and second gear are limited to partial power by default. Removal of these limits simply result in more smoke. Traction is the limiting factor in the initial roll-off.
We both have Michelin PSS on our cars with similar life left - additionally these runs were both from a light that then led onto a freeway so it went well beyond just 1st and 2nd gear sprints, I continued walking away until our predetermined 'let off' point at around 120mph on both runs.
__________________

Last edited by LJohnson32; 08-31-2020 at 07:09 PM..
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2020, 07:27 PM   #5
Minacious
The Dovahkiin
Minacious's Avatar
312
Rep
148
Posts

Drives: LCI M6 GC, other stuff.
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (0)

Out of curiosity, and yes, I know it isn't accurate worth a damn or a proper indicator for anything, but it does read from the ECU (as far as I know), what does the max HP on the Sport Display show?

I'd like to think a local tuner, assuming there is one somewhere near you, can pull the tune from the ECU.
Appreciate 1
      08-31-2020, 07:32 PM   #6
LJohnson32
First Lieutenant
LJohnson32's Avatar
United_States
213
Rep
360
Posts

Drives: 2016 BMW M6 Gran Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Minacious View Post
Out of curiosity, and yes, I know it isn't accurate worth a damn or a proper indicator for anything, but it does read from the ECU (as far as I know), what does the max HP on the Sport Display show?

I'd like to think a local tuner, assuming there is one somewhere near you, can pull the tune from the ECU.
Just shows the stock HP/TQ numbers on the sport displays. Perhaps I can see if BimmerLink pulls some sort of 'HP/TQ Actual' reading. But I think the only absolute way to find out will be to check around and see if the VIN is in the database for any tuners whether that be in person at a shop or via email
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2020, 07:38 PM   #7
Minacious
The Dovahkiin
Minacious's Avatar
312
Rep
148
Posts

Drives: LCI M6 GC, other stuff.
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LJohnson32 View Post
Just shows the stock HP/TQ numbers on the sport displays. Perhaps I can see if BimmerLink pulls some sort of 'HP/TQ Actual' reading. But I think the only absolute way to find out will be to check around and see if the VIN is in the database for any tuners whether that be in person at a shop or via email
Okay. It was worth a try. My car is tuned and the HP figure on the Sport Display went up, though, rather embellished with a reading of 800hp (It's actually a little above 700). I also don't know if the number displayed is something that can be altered when tuning.

No local tuning shops you can make a visit to?

Last edited by Minacious; 08-31-2020 at 07:54 PM..
Appreciate 1
      08-31-2020, 09:16 PM   #8
LJohnson32
First Lieutenant
LJohnson32's Avatar
United_States
213
Rep
360
Posts

Drives: 2016 BMW M6 Gran Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Minacious View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJohnson32 View Post
Just shows the stock HP/TQ numbers on the sport displays. Perhaps I can see if BimmerLink pulls some sort of 'HP/TQ Actual' reading. But I think the only absolute way to find out will be to check around and see if the VIN is in the database for any tuners whether that be in person at a shop or via email
Okay. It was worth a try. My car is tuned and the HP figure on the Sport Display went up, though, rather embellished with a reading of 800hp (It's actually a little above 700). I also don't know if the number displayed is something that can be altered when tuning.

No local tuning shops you can make a visit to?
I'll have to look and see, it's not exactly the mecca for tuning and speed here in MN but I'm sure someone in the area can check
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2020, 11:26 PM   #9
Rsnk60 M6
Private
34
Rep
99
Posts

Drives: 2016 BMW M6 GC
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Los Angeles, Calif

iTrader: (0)

my sport display says 650 and im stock
__________________
M6 Daddy
Appreciate 1
      09-01-2020, 07:02 AM   #10
mikerx5
Captain
mikerx5's Avatar
455
Rep
745
Posts

Drives: 2014 F06, 2022 G06
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Providence, RI

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rsnk60 M6 View Post
my sport display says 650 and im stock
Sorry to ask this, but what is sport display?
Appreciate 1
      09-01-2020, 02:02 PM   #11
LJohnson32
First Lieutenant
LJohnson32's Avatar
United_States
213
Rep
360
Posts

Drives: 2016 BMW M6 Gran Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikerx5 View Post
Sorry to ask this, but what is sport display?
A menu within the iDrive, here is what mine shows:



Is this what everyone else sees for power levels? Perhaps mine is slightly bumped up from stock figures because I always run 93 octane?

I've emailed:

DME: Cannot look up by VIN, needs customer name which I don't have as it would've had to be one of the prior owners
BM3: Not in their system
Dinan: Not in their system
Active Autowerke: Waiting for response
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-01-2020, 04:53 PM   #12
mikerx5
Captain
mikerx5's Avatar
455
Rep
745
Posts

Drives: 2014 F06, 2022 G06
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Providence, RI

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LJohnson32 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikerx5 View Post
Sorry to ask this, but what is sport display?
A menu within the iDrive, here is what mine shows:



Is this what everyone else sees for power levels? Perhaps mine is slightly bumped up from stock figures because I always run 93 octane?

I've emailed:

DME: Cannot look up by VIN, needs customer name which I don't have as it would've had to be one of the prior owners
BM3: Not in their system
Dinan: Not in their system
Active Autowerke: Waiting for response
Thx. Would be great if this was a default in M2 setting
Appreciate 1
      09-01-2020, 04:55 PM   #13
Flo1989
Lieutenant
Flo1989's Avatar
342
Rep
432
Posts

Drives: M6 Gran Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Canfield, OH

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikerx5 View Post
Thx. Would be great if this was a default in M2 setting
This is only available for 2015+ models. Had it coded on my 2014 and although it appeared, it was non functional.
Appreciate 2
MMMM6GC275.00
      09-01-2020, 05:59 PM   #14
mikerx5
Captain
mikerx5's Avatar
455
Rep
745
Posts

Drives: 2014 F06, 2022 G06
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Providence, RI

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flo1989 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikerx5 View Post
Thx. Would be great if this was a default in M2 setting
This is only available for 2015+ models. Had it coded on my 2014 and although it appeared, it was non functional.
OH. 2014 here, SOL then. Thx
Appreciate 2
Flo1989342.00
      09-02-2020, 09:07 AM   #15
LJohnson32
First Lieutenant
LJohnson32's Avatar
United_States
213
Rep
360
Posts

Drives: 2016 BMW M6 Gran Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikerx5 View Post
OH. 2014 here, SOL then. Thx
Ope - didn't know this was a feature exclusive to the LCI cars I thought all of them had the screen sorry for the confusion
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2020, 09:37 AM   #16
Minacious
The Dovahkiin
Minacious's Avatar
312
Rep
148
Posts

Drives: LCI M6 GC, other stuff.
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (0)

Again, I know it's not accurate worth a damn, but my thinking is that a number different than stock would indicate something having been done to the car. Now that I think about it, depending on the car, that number would be all over the map anyway. Though rated for a certain crank horsepower, these cars aren't rolling out of the factory with the exact same numbers. Perhaps you have a factory freak.

Last edited by Minacious; 09-02-2020 at 12:52 PM..
Appreciate 1
      09-02-2020, 11:00 AM   #17
Qsilver7
Major General
Qsilver7's Avatar
United_States
4394
Rep
7,426
Posts

Drives: F06 650ix GC / F15 X5 50i
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Indiana, USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flo1989 View Post
This is only available for 2015+ models. Had it coded on my 2014 and although it appeared, it was non functional.
Is it different for the F series M6? I was able to code the sport display for my 2013 f06 650ix (w/N63TU engine) which has the older CIC iDrive set-up...using the BimmerCode app....and it works (the gauges move) when I pull up the display.
Attached Images
 
__________________
2015 F06 650ix Gran Coupe`(Moonstone/Cohiba Brown)| 2014 F15 X5 50i MSport (Space Gray/Mocha)

Become a BMW CCA member! Click HERE to join and feel free to use my BMW CCA member #191509 as a referral.
Appreciate 1
      09-02-2020, 01:28 PM   #18
Flo1989
Lieutenant
Flo1989's Avatar
342
Rep
432
Posts

Drives: M6 Gran Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Canfield, OH

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qsilver7 View Post
Is it different for the F series M6? I was able to code the sport display for my 2013 f06 650ix (w/N63TU engine) which has the older CIC iDrive set-up...using the BimmerCode app....and it works (the gauges move) when I pull up the display.
It must be...My tuner said it wouldn't work on my car, but I had it coded in by someone who specializes in coding just to see. They appeared, but were non-functioning. I don't want to derail LJohnson32 thread as finding out whether or not his car is tuned is more important haha.

If you are unable to find out from any of the tuners whether or not its been modified, a last resort would be to get a dragy and test your 60-130's. If it's stock, you should be in the 8.5-9 second range (dependent on DA and how close/far you are to sea level).
Appreciate 1
      09-03-2020, 09:39 PM   #19
LJohnson32
First Lieutenant
LJohnson32's Avatar
United_States
213
Rep
360
Posts

Drives: 2016 BMW M6 Gran Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flo1989 View Post
It must be...My tuner said it wouldn't work on my car, but I had it coded in by someone who specializes in coding just to see. They appeared, but were non-functioning. I don't want to derail LJohnson32 thread as finding out whether or not his car is tuned is more important haha.

If you are unable to find out from any of the tuners whether or not its been modified, a last resort would be to get a dragy and test your 60-130's. If it's stock, you should be in the 8.5-9 second range (dependent on DA and how close/far you are to sea level).
All good, no worries! Appreciate everyone's input on this. I'll look into the dragy unit, in addition to seeing if a few shops can take a closer look at the ECU to determine whether any work has been done there. Will report back if/when I get conclusive evidence
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2020, 05:14 AM   #20
LSM3
Private First Class
Australia
48
Rep
104
Posts

Drives: F06 ///M6 GranCoupe
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Melbourne, VIC

iTrader: (0)

The easy way to find out if your car is tuned is to do exactly what you've done and have a race. If you win against a stock car by a decent margin, chances are it is tuned.

If you race a tuned car with intakes - very high likelihood it is tuned. Its almost impossible for a stock F10/F06 to win against a tuned one.

If your car is not tuned, The only reasons a car with those mods would lose against a stock car are (in my opinion):
A) driver is a muppet (which you confirmed he isn't); or
B) engine is down on power and about to be an expensive grenade.
Appreciate 1
      02-19-2024, 07:31 AM   #21
danielgmanm6
Private First Class
danielgmanm6's Avatar
United_States
87
Rep
179
Posts

Drives: 2013 BMW ///M6 F13
Join Date: May 2022
Location: Raleigh Nc

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2013 Bmw M6  [0.00]
  [0.00]
  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJohnson32 View Post
May seem like a silly question to some but I'm curious if there is a simple method to find out if my car is flashed/tuned?

Backstory to this is myself and a friend with a LCI F10 M5 went to a car show together on Saturday morning and we did a pair of runs from the lights. Despite his car having a JB4, BMS intakes, Eisenmann exhaust and the F10 M5 weighing ~150lbs lighter than the M6GC, I won handily both times.

I purchased my car CPO from a BMW dealer back in May and all of my mods to this point have been cosmetic. Is it possible that I purchased the car already tuned or is there no way the tune would've snuck through the CPO checklist when the car was processed at the dealership?

Thanks in advance for any insight


I'm having the same experience. Everyone gets completely dusted that I run into lol.
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2024, 09:30 PM   #22
byebyev8
Private First Class
81
Rep
185
Posts

Drives: e92 335i f12 m6
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Kenosha wi

iTrader: (1)

JB4 map 1 wasnít a huge power bump if any to me over stock. I could easily see a stock car with the comp package beating a regular model on JB4 map 1. His charge pipes couplers could be hard as rocks and leaking too I know mine were. Now if you beat a stage 1 or 2 flash tuned car thatís a completely different story.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.




6post.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST