BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   6Post.com | BMW 6-Series Forum > BMW 6 Series Forum > BMW M6 Forum (F12 / F13)

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-25-2018, 11:21 PM   #1
bravekido
New Member
2
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: 2015 M6 GC
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Subwoofer for Bang & Olufsen replacement F13 M6

What subwoofer do you guys recommended for Bang & Olufsen Olufsen on a F13 M6?

Has anyone used Earthquake?
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B06X41HPJJ/

It was recommended from this thread:
http://f15.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho...1400283&page=2

Also, if you changed yours, does it make a big difference?

I don't want a box in the trunk, so I'm leaning toward underseat replacements.
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2018, 07:24 AM   #2
digidoc1010
New Member
2
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 650i GC
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Alabama

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bravekido View Post
What subwoofer do you guys recommended for Bang & Olufsen Olufsen on a F13 M6?

Has anyone used Earthquake?
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B06X41HPJJ/

It was recommended from this thread:
http://f15.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho...1400283&page=2

Also, if you changed yours, does it make a big difference?

I don't want a box in the trunk, so I'm leaning toward underseat replacements.
I've used the Bavsound underseat subs and while they sound "better" than the stock, they still don't produce the lows you will get from a subwoofer mounted in a box. I added a 10" sub in a small box in the trunk to my B&O system and it is absolutely phenomenal. I know you said you don't want a box in the trunk, but it really does make all the difference.
Appreciate 1
M6DYS14.50

      03-26-2018, 07:36 AM   #3
mjposner
Colonel
mjposner's Avatar
United_States
299
Rep
2,403
Posts

Drives: 2016 M4 F83
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: US

iTrader: (2)

https://www.bavsound.com/BMW-Underse...oofer-Upgrades

BAVSOUND GHOST UNDERSEAT SUBWOOFER, 8 OHM, PAIR
For your: 2013 BMW M6 Convertible with Bang & Olufsen Audio System
4.5/5 (59)

Ghost Underseat Subwoofer Upgrades are our vehicle specific under-seat subwoofer replacements that deliver nearly twice the output of the factory subwoofers in under an hour. Simply swap the factory subwoofers with your new Ghost Underseat Subwoofers and experience the real power and emotion of your music as it was meant to be heard - and felt
__________________
Previous BMW: 13 M6; 14 M235i, 12 BMW M3; 11 BMW M3; 08 BMW M3; 08 BMW Z4M; 04 X3; 02 M3 Convertible; 02 M3; 00 M Roadster; 94 325 convertible; 92 325i Convertible; and 85 635csi
My other ride: www.mjposner.com/corvair
My Car Photo Blog: http://carfisheye.blogspot.com/
Appreciate 1
M6DYS14.50

      03-26-2018, 07:37 AM   #4
mjposner
Colonel
mjposner's Avatar
United_States
299
Rep
2,403
Posts

Drives: 2016 M4 F83
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: US

iTrader: (2)

I also added a sub box in the trunk.
__________________
Previous BMW: 13 M6; 14 M235i, 12 BMW M3; 11 BMW M3; 08 BMW M3; 08 BMW Z4M; 04 X3; 02 M3 Convertible; 02 M3; 00 M Roadster; 94 325 convertible; 92 325i Convertible; and 85 635csi
My other ride: www.mjposner.com/corvair
My Car Photo Blog: http://carfisheye.blogspot.com/
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2018, 10:06 AM   #5
bravekido
New Member
2
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: 2015 M6 GC
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by digidoc1010 View Post
I've used the Bavsound underseat subs and while they sound "better" than the stock, they still don't produce the lows you will get from a subwoofer mounted in a box. I added a 10" sub in a small box in the trunk to my B&O system and it is absolutely phenomenal. I know you said you don't want a box in the trunk, but it really does make all the difference.
What is your setup? What Sub and amp?

If under seat subs arenít going to make much of a difference I might end up getting a box in the trunk.

Also, I read somewhere that putting a sub in the trunk might be difficult as you need to cut the active driving wire (outside noise that comes into the speakers). Did you run into that issue?
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2018, 11:48 AM   #6
BMWDriverX
Lieutenant
160
Rep
540
Posts

Drives: 19 M5 Nardo
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (1)

I just ordered a pair of the 4 ohm Earthquake subs. I figure if they don't help much I'll just keep them in there and add a sub in the trunk.
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2018, 09:24 PM   #7
digidoc1010
New Member
2
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 650i GC
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Alabama

iTrader: (0)

Sub and box install

Quote:
Originally Posted by bravekido View Post
What is your setup? What Sub and amp?

If under seat subs arenít going to make much of a difference I might end up getting a box in the trunk.

Also, I read somewhere that putting a sub in the trunk might be difficult as you need to cut the active driving wire (outside noise that comes into the speakers). Did you run into that issue?
I didn't want to spend a ton of money so I just got a Rockford Fosgate 10" shallow mount sub.
Rockford-Fosgate-P3SD2-10

A Rockford Fosgate amp. It has a remote volume control that you can install up front to control the amount of sub bass that you want.
Rockford-Fosgate-Prime-R250X1

And this box:
Sound-Ordnance-Bass-Bunker

My amp is screwed right to the top of the box so it's a pretty small footprint.

Installation is very easy. You just need to tap into the speaker wire coming from the car amp that is going to the under seat subs. That way you get a signal that contains the frequencies you need. The Rockford Fosgate sub amp takes speaker level inputs. Then you just need to connect the battery and the amp on signal. If you need guidance on where to get access to any of the wiring I can point you to diagrams.

This really is a super easy install and totally worth it.
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2018, 10:46 PM   #8
bravekido
New Member
2
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: 2015 M6 GC
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by digidoc1010 View Post
I didn't want to spend a ton of money so I just got a Rockford Fosgate 10" shallow mount sub.
Rockford-Fosgate-P3SD2-10

A Rockford Fosgate amp. It has a remote volume control that you can install up front to control the amount of sub bass that you want.
Rockford-Fosgate-Prime-R250X1

And this box:
Sound-Ordnance-Bass-Bunker

My amp is screwed right to the top of the box so it's a pretty small footprint.

Installation is very easy. You just need to tap into the speaker wire coming from the car amp that is going to the under seat subs. That way you get a signal that contains the frequencies you need. The Rockford Fosgate sub amp takes speaker level inputs. Then you just need to connect the battery and the amp on signal. If you need guidance on where to get access to any of the wiring I can point you to diagrams.

This really is a super easy install and totally worth it.
Thanks! Good info!

Is that amp strong enough? how about this R500X1D?
https://www.crutchfield.com/p_575R50...e-R500X1D.html

It sounds like you installed it yourself. How long did it take? I'm wondering if I should do it myself or take it to the shop.
A diagram would be great if you can find it. Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2018, 11:03 PM   #9
digidoc1010
New Member
2
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 650i GC
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Alabama

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bravekido View Post
Thanks! Good info!

Is that amp strong enough? how about this R500X1D?
https://www.crutchfield.com/p_575R50...e-R500X1D.html

It sounds like you installed it yourself. How long did it take? I'm wondering if I should do it myself or take it to the shop.
A diagram would be great if you can find it. Thanks.
The 250 is plenty strong. I barely get it above a quarter of the volume and I can feel it in my bones :-)

I did it myself and honestly the hardest part is removing the trim. I did it in stages but total time was a few hours.

Wiring diagrams can be found here Newtis.info
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2018, 11:14 PM   #10
digidoc1010
New Member
2
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 650i GC
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Alabama

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bravekido View Post
Thanks! Good info!

Is that amp strong enough? how about this R500X1D?
https://www.crutchfield.com/p_575R50...e-R500X1D.html

It sounds like you installed it yourself. How long did it take? I'm wondering if I should do it myself or take it to the shop.
A diagram would be great if you can find it. Thanks.
Amplifier Location diagram is here
Amp

Speaker wiring diagram is here
Speaker Wiring
Appreciate 0
      03-26-2018, 11:37 PM   #11
bravekido
New Member
2
Rep
20
Posts

Drives: 2015 M6 GC
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by digidoc1010 View Post
The 250 is plenty strong. I barely get it above a quarter of the volume and I can feel it in my bones :-)

I did it myself and honestly the hardest part is removing the trim. I did it in stages but total time was a few hours.

Wiring diagrams can be found here Newtis.info
Awesome! I'll try your setup
thanks.
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2018, 06:16 AM   #12
digidoc1010
New Member
2
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: 650i GC
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Alabama

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bravekido View Post
Awesome! I'll try your setup
thanks.
Something I learned through the process is that placement of the sub box in the trunk can make a huge difference in the sound. I ended up with it sitting about half way back and facing the front of the car. Interestingly, when it was facing the rear of the car and pushed up close to the trunk lid, it was the loudest and a lot boomier. At any rate, play around with it to get the sound you are looking for. Good luck and have fun!
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2018, 07:28 AM   #13
mjposner
Colonel
mjposner's Avatar
United_States
299
Rep
2,403
Posts

Drives: 2016 M4 F83
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: US

iTrader: (2)

Sub placement

For me, it was an issue of fit and not losing trunk volume dur to convertible's odd shape. My amp is also mounted to the sub.

With top up I get really good base, top down, far less.

Name:  DSCF4210.JPG
Views: 1489
Size:  1.32 MB

Name:  DSCF4212.JPG
Views: 1448
Size:  1.61 MB
__________________
Previous BMW: 13 M6; 14 M235i, 12 BMW M3; 11 BMW M3; 08 BMW M3; 08 BMW Z4M; 04 X3; 02 M3 Convertible; 02 M3; 00 M Roadster; 94 325 convertible; 92 325i Convertible; and 85 635csi
My other ride: www.mjposner.com/corvair
My Car Photo Blog: http://carfisheye.blogspot.com/
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2019, 11:56 PM   #14
theracerboss
Private First Class
4
Rep
119
Posts

Drives: BMW 5 Series
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Washington, DC

iTrader: (0)

I have a B&O in my M5 and have been wanting to add a sub for a long time now.
Could you guys help me with any pictures you might have had or have or can now take with which shows the wires coming out of the amp that I need to tap into?

Also, how did you tap into them, did you use an after market harness ?

Please advise...
Appreciate 0
      03-24-2019, 08:38 AM   #15
ikenjoku7
Second Lieutenant
ikenjoku7's Avatar
United_States
31
Rep
257
Posts

Drives: 08 e92 335i
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Atlanta, Ga

iTrader: (0)

Does anyone have a corner sub setup? I remember some people saw good results in the e90 forums using this setups and were still able to keep the majority of their trunk space

Edit: This is what I'm talking about. They have one for the f10 chassis. It's pretty pricey, but I think it comes with everything you would need and its JL if thats a big deal for you (not an audio guy so idk & idc). I'm waiting on them to respond to my email about it fitting the f13 chassis and if they'll just sell the enclosure.

https://musicarcertified.com/product...b-level-three/
Appreciate 0
      03-24-2019, 07:08 PM   #16
theracerboss
Private First Class
4
Rep
119
Posts

Drives: BMW 5 Series
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Washington, DC

iTrader: (0)

Guys
I'm here
Need help on which subwoofer wire to tap
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2019, 08:52 PM   #17
theracerboss
Private First Class
4
Rep
119
Posts

Drives: BMW 5 Series
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Washington, DC

iTrader: (0)

Figured it out
Thanks for the info
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2019, 10:09 AM   #18
petro1head
Private
2
Rep
55
Posts

Drives: E89 Z4
Join Date: May 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by theracerboss View Post
Figured it out
Thanks for the info
Come on then, tell us what you did so we can all benefit
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2019, 02:41 AM   #19
theracerboss
Private First Class
4
Rep
119
Posts

Drives: BMW 5 Series
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Washington, DC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by petro1head View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by theracerboss View Post
Figured it out
Thanks for the info
Come on then, tell us what you did so we can all benefit
Quote:
Originally Posted by petro1head View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by theracerboss View Post
Figured it out
Thanks for the info
Come on then, tell us what you did so we can all benefit
This is the answer

https://5series.net/forums/private-m...ilt-loc-99857/

I used to own an E60 M5 with a Dirac audio system in it. I also had another e60 with a Logic 7 in it. BAck then I had purchased 2 different wiring harness from a member called technic. These harness would help you tap into the audio system to draw an audio signal that can be used for an aftermarket amp hook up.

I found the wiring harness that I had from the Dirac and wallah ( plug and play)

The link I am showing above is for the Logic 7 harness but the point is that technic was selling these harness back then for the Dirac e60 M5's that I reused in the F10 and it works like a charm.

I will try and post pictures as I still have to put my trim back for the most part.

I have added a JL audio 12W6 v3 D4 in a sealed box that I built myself and the sound is truly AMAZING with this addition.

It's nothing of the nature that a bass junkie would sound with vibrating his entire car but it's just clean punchy bass where it was missing.

Is my setup an overkill.... probably but it sounds just fantastic per my taste.

Pictures will be posted later as I don't have any at the moment.
Appreciate 0
      10-23-2019, 11:16 PM   #20
hirkaismyname
Second Lieutenant
74
Rep
266
Posts

Drives: F06 2017 Grigio Telesto Perl
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Greenville, SC + Orlando, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by theracerboss View Post
This is the answer

https://5series.net/forums/private-m...ilt-loc-99857/

I used to own an E60 M5 with a Dirac audio system in it. I also had another e60 with a Logic 7 in it. BAck then I had purchased 2 different wiring harness from a member called technic. These harness would help you tap into the audio system to draw an audio signal that can be used for an aftermarket amp hook up.

I found the wiring harness that I had from the Dirac and wallah ( plug and play)

The link I am showing above is for the Logic 7 harness but the point is that technic was selling these harness back then for the Dirac e60 M5's that I reused in the F10 and it works like a charm.

I will try and post pictures as I still have to put my trim back for the most part.

I have added a JL audio 12W6 v3 D4 in a sealed box that I built myself and the sound is truly AMAZING with this addition.

It's nothing of the nature that a bass junkie would sound with vibrating his entire car but it's just clean punchy bass where it was missing.

Is my setup an overkill.... probably but it sounds just fantastic per my taste.

Pictures will be posted later as I don't have any at the moment.
Let's see those pics!
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2019, 08:35 AM   #21
theracerboss
Private First Class
4
Rep
119
Posts

Drives: BMW 5 Series
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Washington, DC

iTrader: (0)

Didn't take many but this is from wiring the subwoofer amp ( I got an NVX)
It's super small and pushes a lot of power
Attached Images
    
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2019, 08:47 AM   #22
theracerboss
Private First Class
4
Rep
119
Posts

Drives: BMW 5 Series
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Washington, DC

iTrader: (0)

Subwoofer box
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
b&f, bang and olufsen, earthquake, f13 6 series, subwoofer

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 AM.




6post.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST