BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
Go Back   6Post.com | BMW 6-Series Forum > BMW 6 Series Forum > General 6-Series Coupe, Convertible, and Gran Coupe Forum

01-12-2019, 11:49 AM   #1
Danny396
Rep
Drives: 640d

Battery Problem

Hi All,

Newbie here. I’ve looked through previous posts for an answer with no luck.

I’m looking for a bit of advice about my 2013 640d coupe. 30k miles.

It sat over Christmas for 2 weeks without getting used, when I started it after the 2 weeks I got a message saying ‘increased battery discharge whilst stationary’ The wording might not be 100% correct.

I drive my car to work (40miles) and tested the battery which was 12.6v. Drove home later that day and again when I got home 12.6v. Tested it in morning and it had dropped to 12.3v. I left it until later that day and it was 12.1v, left it again for about 12hrs and it read 12.3v again 🤔

I then charged the battery back up and removed it from the car for 36hrs and it still read 12.6v so I reckon the battery is ok. I’ve been told by a mechanic that the alternator is working fine and he doesn’t suspect any diode issues as they usually through up some warning lights.

Another weird thing is my car unlocks when I walk towards it, if I stand at the patrol cap area, there is a constant slicking as if the car is constantly unlocking itself however if I move the key fob away from here the clicking stops.

I’m guessing something is draining the battery whilst stationary to bring up the message but what? Don’t have anything plugged into any cigarette lighters or any dash cams etc. Or due to in consistent reading is the battery actually gunned.

Any ideas anyone?
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2019, 04:12 PM   #2
Havy
Captain
Germany
Rep
Drives: BMW X5 M50i

The battery is now at least 5 years old, it can happen that it is almost dead. The best way to recharge is driving at least for an hour. You should measure the rest current.
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2019, 12:52 PM   #3
Nummer22
Rep