BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
      07-13-2019, 11:17 AM   #1
E92TTCoupe
Captain
United_States
54
Rep
846
Posts

Drives: X:E92335i/X:F10550i/C:GC640i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

NBT Upgrade

So I was reading to upgrade my head unit and to my understanding I believe I have a NBT Evo (build date 10/14). I have the touch pad feature too. Is it a simple screen swap and just coding?
Appreciate 0
      07-14-2019, 02:26 AM   #2
hugo_nz
Private First Class
New Zealand
45
Rep
123
Posts

Drives: F12 650i
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

iTrader: (0)

What do you want to upgrade to? Evo is as far as you can go at the moment since the new iDrive system uses new connectors, gateways etc...
Appreciate 0
      07-14-2019, 04:00 PM   #3
E92TTCoupe
Captain
United_States
54
Rep
846
Posts

Drives: X:E92335i/X:F10550i/C:GC640i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hugo_nz View Post
What do you want to upgrade to? Evo is as far as you can go at the moment since the new iDrive system uses new connectors, gateways etc...

Pretty much the new style like in the G series display.
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2019, 03:49 AM   #4
hugo_nz
Private First Class
New Zealand
45
Rep
123
Posts

Drives: F12 650i
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E92TTCoupe View Post
Pretty much the new style like in the G series display.
If you are referring to the new iDrive 7 then it's not going to be possible for quite a while, if at all.

Given how extensive the hardware changes are as well as the new protocols in use etc. a retrofit would require quite a complex adapter to work around all of that.

If I were a betting man I'd put my money on there never being a retrofit for iDrive 7 into unsupported models.
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2019, 05:27 PM   #5
E92TTCoupe
Captain
United_States
54
Rep
846
Posts

Drives: X:E92335i/X:F10550i/C:GC640i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hugo_nz View Post
If you are referring to the new iDrive 7 then it's not going to be possible for quite a while, if at all.

Given how extensive the hardware changes are as well as the new protocols in use etc. a retrofit would require quite a complex adapter to work around all of that.

If I were a betting man I'd put my money on there never being a retrofit for iDrive 7 into unsupported models.
More like the 6 actually. I figured the new idrive wouldnít be available being that itís new so the 6 would do.
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2019, 07:38 PM   #6
hugo_nz
Private First Class
New Zealand
45
Rep
123
Posts

Drives: F12 650i
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E92TTCoupe View Post
More like the 6 actually. I figured the new idrive wouldnít be available being that itís new so the 6 would do.
Can you post a photo of your current idrive?
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2019, 12:14 AM   #7
E92TTCoupe
Captain
United_States
54
Rep
846
Posts

Drives: X:E92335i/X:F10550i/C:GC640i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hugo_nz View Post
Can you post a photo of your current idrive?


Once she gets out of service I will. Been 2 weeks
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2019, 09:16 AM   #8
Qsilver7
Captain
Qsilver7's Avatar
United_States
428
Rep
935
Posts

Drives: F06 650ix GC / E53 X5 4.4
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Indiana, USA

iTrader: (0)

maybe this will help...if you have ID4...you can probably upgrade o ID5 or ID6:
Attached Images
   
__________________
2006 E53 X5 4.4 | 2013 F06 650ix Gran Coupe`
BMW CCA Member #191509
Appreciate 1
thebmw122.50

      07-16-2019, 12:39 PM   #9
E92TTCoupe
Captain
United_States
54
Rep
846
Posts

Drives: X:E92335i/X:F10550i/C:GC640i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qsilver7 View Post
maybe this will help...if you have ID4...you can probably upgrade o ID5 or ID6:

Thatís perfect. Much appreciated. I do have the 4. Just wanted to upgrade to the 5 or 6 thatís all. I read somewhere it was just the screen?
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2019, 02:06 PM   #10
hugo_nz
Private First Class
New Zealand
45
Rep
123
Posts

Drives: F12 650i
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

iTrader: (0)

It will be at minimum a new computer. You may be able to use the existing Display if you get a voltage converter. Depending on your specific equipment you may also need to change the sound system amp and antennas. Install should be mostly plug and play.

I can recommend getting in touch with Bimmer Retrofit...I bought my kit from them and their support is top notch.

Even though the retrofit process has been covered extensively the 6-series seems to have little idiosyncrasies that can complicate the install. If you are not confident in or experienced at retrofits, wire splicing and reading technical diagrams then I would recommend having an installer do it.
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2019, 10:32 PM   #11
E92TTCoupe
Captain
United_States
54
Rep
846
Posts

Drives: X:E92335i/X:F10550i/C:GC640i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hugo_nz View Post
It will be at minimum a new computer. You may be able to use the existing Display if you get a voltage converter. Depending on your specific equipment you may also need to change the sound system amp and antennas. Install should be mostly plug and play.

I can recommend getting in touch with Bimmer Retrofit...I bought my kit from them and their support is top notch.

Even though the retrofit process has been covered extensively the 6-series seems to have little idiosyncrasies that can complicate the install. If you are not confident in or experienced at retrofits, wire splicing and reading technical diagrams then I would recommend having an installer do it.


Thanks man. Truly appreciate the info. Iíll reach out them.
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2019, 11:14 PM   #12
Opie55
First Lieutenant
86
Rep
325
Posts

Drives: '15 650i Convertible
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: US

iTrader: (0)

The part about playing DVD videos, US cars do not do that, right?
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2019, 05:34 AM   #13
E92TTCoupe
Captain
United_States
54
Rep
846
Posts

Drives: X:E92335i/X:F10550i/C:GC640i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Opie55 View Post
The part about playing DVD videos, US cars do not do that, right?
I believe they do. I had a CIC couple a years back and it played.
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2019, 05:04 PM   #14
Qsilver7
Captain
Qsilver7's Avatar
United_States
428
Rep
935
Posts

Drives: F06 650ix GC / E53 X5 4.4
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Indiana, USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Opie55 View Post
The part about playing DVD videos, US cars do not do that, right?
My 2013 f06 can play a DVD...I inserted one a few months ago just to see if it would...and it did. The movie (assuming that's what you are wanting to watch) won't play unless you are parked...unless you code "movie while driving" on.
__________________
2006 E53 X5 4.4 | 2013 F06 650ix Gran Coupe`
BMW CCA Member #191509
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2019, 10:50 PM   #15
Opie55
First Lieutenant
86
Rep
325
Posts

Drives: '15 650i Convertible
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: US

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qsilver7 View Post
My 2013 f06 can play a DVD...I inserted one a few months ago just to see if it would...and it did. The movie (assuming that's what you are wanting to watch) won't play unless you are parked...unless you code "movie while driving" on.
Well dang, now I have to try this, and now I may be a fan of coding even though I never have been before.
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 08:50 AM   #16
Qsilver7
Captain
Qsilver7's Avatar
United_States
428
Rep
935
Posts

Drives: F06 650ix GC / E53 X5 4.4
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Indiana, USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Opie55 View Post
Well dang, now I have to try this, and now I may be a fan of coding even though I never have been before.
I find it odd/funny that DVD movie capability is enabled in the US market (or any market) that can only be utilized while parked. I look at it as a function without a purpose.

Who sits in a car for over an hour watching a movie in a parked car on a little screen? And you'll probably drain the battery if the engine isn't running or started periodically...which wastes gas. I don't get it...so apparently this feature wasn't targeted towards someone like me.

Coding the DVD in motion...now that makes sense...but still kind of dangerous if the driver is in the car alone and is trying to watch a movie while negotiating traffic.
__________________
2006 E53 X5 4.4 | 2013 F06 650ix Gran Coupe`
BMW CCA Member #191509
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 PM.




6post.com
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST