BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
Go Back   6Post.com | BMW 6-Series Forum > BMW 6 Series Forum > General 6-Series Coupe, Convertible, and Gran Coupe Forum

09-02-2023, 12:39 AM   #1
techforay
Registered
Rep
Drives: BMW 650i

Recommended scanner

Hi all
I am very new to BMW. I just purchased a 2010 650i. I am having some issues with the heater. Will not blow warm air. I was at one time but now it isnt for some reason. I have investagated and know how to check the heater control module. I was also told to get a BMW specific scanner. Can someone recommend a good scanner that would work for most things I would need it for.
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2023, 10:56 AM   #2
Opie55
Colonel
Rep
Drives: '15 650i Convertible

It kind of depends on how sophisticated you want to get. I personally use Bimmerlink. It is an app you download to your phone and use through a bluetooth dongle that plugs into your OBDII port. Bimmerlink does lots of stuff, including reading and clearing codes in all modules. And it live monitors dozens of parameters. Like current battery charging voltage, state of battery charge, any fluid temp sensor, boost pressure, etc. But it has its limits. Although it can read all modules, it cannot, for example, code a new module. So any new part you install that requires initializing or coding will require something other Bimmerlink. Many people download ISTA - you can read about it by running a few searches - but it has a steep learning curve. There is another similar program, the name of which escapes me at the moment.
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2023, 12:34 PM   #3
SWFLf10
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2016 Alpina B6, 2015 535i

Garage List
As mentioned above, ISTA is the software BMW uses so it’s very powerful, but takes a bit to get used to. And requires a laptop to run it.

A standalone option would be a Foxwell scanner with the BMW code reading ability included. I keep one with me so I can use it on the side of the road in an emergency.